Eddy Pula

20 04 2012

© Eddy Pula

So today the worlds best photo blog chose Eddy Pula for it’s occasional ‘random excellence’ posts. I’d never heard of Eddy Pula, but it’s the worlds best photo blog, so I always click through and take a look at what Mike’s noticed and brought to our attention. Sometimes the random excellence grabs me, other times it doesn’t. Anyway, I liked todays recommendation.

Eddy is shooting film square on old Rolleicords, Mamiyas and Crown Reflexes. Developing and printing in his basement. Kinda stuff we like here at eyesoup. The portraits he’s making are pretty cool. And his blog writing is entertaining too.

Actually, to counteract my previous Instagram post, he has a very funny take on the whole hipstamatic thing that made me think of pulling my previous post (I mean really, can I ever be taken seriously as a photographer, if I put the word out that I’m looking for a replacement for a phone app instead of making fabulous portraits on my RB67?!!!). This was Eddy’s take on the whole thing –

“… Posen (Sic) man, that’s the bullshit I hate. Hipstamatic, Instagram, whatever the kids these days are doing to make their stupid photo’s worse. Step 1, spend half a grand on a miracle of modern technology, step 2 take a picture of a palm tree/graffiti/tattoo/etc, step 3 apply canned curve masks to make it look like you shot it with a disposable/flea market camera that has been sitting on the dashboard of your car for most of August with a roll of CVS brand color film that expired before the tragic events of 9/11. Step 4 revel in your creativity. …”

Put me in my place!

I dunno if it will annoy him that I’ve posted a photo of his without permission though**. In another post he says “Half the stupid blogs I read just take others people’s posts, videos and pictures and paste them up every couple of hours.”. Except that I only write a blog post every couple of weeks (unless I’m feeling inspired), and a lot of the time I do post about interesting stuff I find on the net. More original content required?

Speaking of original content, keep an eye on The Dark Room at Camden Palace – dark room classes starting on April 26th! If you’ve never experienced the magical alchemy of seeing a photo appear in a tray of chemicals under a red light, then this class is a must! Pure original content – you take the picture, you develop the film, you make the print. No computer required! No internet! Just dark and chemicals and some focussed light … Click here for more

– Rory

** I’ll email Eddy and let him know

Actions

Information

One response

20 04 2012
Eddy Pula

awesome dude… no you know what really pisses me off is that every one posts and retumbles but no one really looks any more. You saw something and then you said something which is a whole nother can of worms. Speaking of which we gotta look out for each other cuz the government is making propoganda saying every kid in a hoodie with a canon rebel is secretly a chinese/osama plant… I can’t remember where I saw the poster, but its lose lip sink ships all over again, and if we let them they’ll take our cameras, pens, paint brushed away, look at Gulag Archipeligo, or one day in the life of Solzenitzin (tots ruining russian words sorry) I know where are not there yet, its just sometimes I worry Thats an icy drive way is all I’m saying (old new englander proverb)

Leave a Reply

