An exhibition of photographs in the Cork Public Museum by Azem Koleci

5 06 2012

©Azem Koleci

I first met Azem Koleci at the Disposable Camera Day back in November 2010. A lovely guy with a great interest in photography, I’ve bumped into Azem at varous exhibitions and photo related events and goodness since then.

Azem told me a while back that he was putting together an exhibition of photographs that he has taken around Cork city, and the project has now been completed. The official opening will be on Thursday coming, June 7th, at the Cork public museum. I asked Azem to tell me a little more about himself and the exhibition, and this is what he said:

My name is Azem Koleci, Albanian and Irish, living in Cork for the past 10 years.
I study photography in St John’s College, and am a member of Cork camera Group. I am therefore a member of the Irish Photographic Federation, and am a member of many other national/international photographic/art organisations and societies. I have had several photo exhibition in Cork, starting in 2005 as part of Cork capital City of Culture, at Cork public Museum. 2006 at Cork Coffee Roasters, 2007 at the Post Office in Wilton, 2008 at  the Tory Top Library and 2010 at Cork City Library. For several years my photos have been shown twice a year as part of CCG at Cork School of Music, and Cork Vision Centre.
My current exhibition, “Reflection”, is on now at Cork Public Museum and will be shown for 3-4 months there.
The 30 photos are all large print, B&W, and show the City of Cork along River Lee bank reflected on water.
The Official opening and reception will take place on Thursday June 7th at 6 pm by the Lord Mayor of Cork.
Some of photos will be donated to Museum and any further sales will be donated to charity.
I am continuing to work on projects & exhibitions in the future, especially in Cork which is my second home to the one I was born in, and I feel this is my way to give something back.

Do try and get along to the opening at the Cork Public Museum, or at least the exhibition over the next couple of months. It will be worth a visit!

– Rory

Actions

Information

One response

5 06 2012
azalko

Thanks, Rory!

Leave a Reply

