Hokkaido

31 12 2009

Hillside Fence, Study 5, Teshikaga, Hokkaido, Japan, 2004 (Michael Kenna)

“… The job of photography is not to produce decoration for other peoples walls and homes. It’s a real voyage of discovery, and I think it’s an authentic way to go through life. It’s a way of discovering things, finding things, experiencing things …”

Just watched this beautiful film of Michael Kenna making photographs in Hokkaido, Japan. Landscape isn’t really my thing, but I love Kenna’s work. With the cold wintry weather upon us, and the January blues just around the corner, take a look at this film, then pull out the old camera and get into an early morning landscape for some photo therapy!

Click here to view

– Rory


Actions

Information

2 responses

31 12 2009
missmilki

I love the quote! Where’s it from?

Also great snow, I wish we’d get some in real life! 😉

31 12 2009
missmilki

Ah its ok – I just watched the film! His work is beautiful!

Leave a comment